Pastoral Care

Every student from Preparatory is placed in a House. Students with a family House association will join the House to which their family member belonged.  There are four Houses which act as vertical social and pastoral groups, as well as teams to compete for the annual House Sport Shield and the Aggregate House Shield.

Students meet in their Houses fortnightly for planning and practice as well as sharing and celebrating.  The students participate in various inter-House competitions throughout the year such as sporting carnivals and music competitions, and have opportunities to earn points for good work and positive behaviour.

Parents are warmly invited to attend all of the House activities. At the end of the year an Aggregate House Cup is awarded to the House with the most points. Each House is named after a strong female figure in Australia’s history:

  • Bates House takes its name from Daisy Bates CBE (1863 – 1951), a self-taught anthropologist remembered for her work with Australian indigenous people.
  • Chisholm House takes its name from Caroline Chisholm (1808 – 1877) who is famous for her tireless efforts to better the lives of immigrants.
  • Gilmore House takes its name from Dame Mary Gilmore CBE (1865 – 1962) a poet, author and journalist, who encouraged young writers and worked for the rights of women and indigenous Australians.
  • Mackellar House takes its name from Dorothea Mackellar (1885 – 1968), an Australian poet who is remembered for her poem, My Country.